## Keech Pond Property Owners Association May 16,2024 Annual Meeting

Glocester Town Hall

6:35 PM President Andy Goulet welcomed everyone to the 49th KPPOA annual meeting. The BOD were introduced: Karen Chluudenski, Kyle Hess, Mark Scott, Robert Thibeault, Ron Schram, Jeff St. Germain, John and Terry Holmes, Bob Van Herpe, Val Begin.

Andy explained that the property owners' are historic geographical sections around the pond. We own the pond and no one can take it from us. We also have responsibilities for maintenance of the dam and taxes. Using powerpoint visuals for all to see, Andy proceeded with the meeting.

Treasurers Report: Checking is \$90,000 with \$36,000 in collections. Higginson Brothers will mow the dam again this year. The dam top will be seeded for erosion control.

Collection agency with Attorney Diana Pearson who takes 35%, has collected \$48,000.

Beaches need to cleaned and repaired from winter rain storms.

URI Watershed Watch has started this season. The water has very low clarity.

Guest Presentors were Deb Silva from Smith and Sayles /Sand Dam Association president and Judy Colaluca from Save The Lakes. Deb talked about a state grant for fresh water lakes and issues and preventive measures like boat cleaning stations. Washington Lake went with the smallest station because they mostly have kayaks and canoes. Sand Dam upgraded to a mid level station costing about \$20,000 and hoping DEM will pay half. Applications were due 2/1/24 and no word yet.

European milfoil has plagued their lake for years. Their weed control plans include different approaches. An annual spot treatment is necessary. Other weed controls include a fall water draw down -54 inches and the temperature below 15' for two consecutive days. Lastly, boat greeters at the public boat launch to inspect boats and educate boaters. Discussion

Guest Presentation by Vin LePore who talked about maintaining septic systems and hoe to help keep them functioning and not polluting our pond. Handouts. Discussion.

Elections for the current BOD

Motion to accept made by Bob Catineault and second by Jeff St.Germain

Election

John Holmes 2025, Mark Scott 2025, Ron Schram 2025, Bob VanHerpe 2025, Andy Goulet 2025, Kyle Hess 2025, Karen Chludenski 2025 Terry Holmes 2024 Robert Chamberland 2024 Tom Fecteau 2024 Bob Thibeault 2024 Val Begin 2024 Adjourn: 8:05